Program Integrity

Program Integrity Regulations: State Authorizations

The University of Wisconsin Independent Learning offers online distance delivery courses. Our faculty and instructors are based at UW institutions that are accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Credits earned with University of Wisconsin Independent Learning may not transfer to all other institutions. Students are advised to check with their home campus advisor about the transferability of the Independent Learning courses prior to registration.

As part of the U.S. Department of Education’s Program Integrity Regulations, UW Independent Learning is committed to complying with the quality standards established for online and distance education established by other state agencies.

Known as “State Authorizations,” these quality standards and the corresponding licensure process requires each college or university to seek authorization (or exemption) from states in which residents are enrolled in online courses or degree programs.

State Authorizations

In compliance with federal, state, and other policies, UW Independent Learning provides this list of U.S. states in which authorization or exemption (as applicable) has been granted. Also listed are those states for which authorization is still in process, pending final approval, or in need of further review.

UW Independent Learning is authorized or exempt from requiring authorization to offer online courses in the following states:


  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota**
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

**UW Independent Learning is a part of UW Extended Campus, a member of the University of Wisconsin System, and is registered with the Minnesota Office of Higher Education pursuant to sections 136A.61 to 136A.71. Registration is not an endorsement of the institution. Credits earned at the institution may not transfer to all other institutions.

For the following states, UW Independent Learning is either determining whether to pursue authorization (or exemption), or has applied for authorization (or exemption) and is pending final approval:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Connecticut
  • District of Columbia
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Michigan
  • Missouri
  • New Mexico
  • Texas
  • Wyoming

Last updated: February 7, 2024

Please note: updated and detailed information will be added to this webpage; please check back regularly for the most up-to-date list of states and other conditions.

If you have questions about the State Authorization process at UW Independent Learning, please contact us at